Candidate for Uskudar | For all your questions about our university
360 sanal tur

Surgical Sciences - About

13 departments of 45 departments which were established under the Faculty of Medicine, have gathered in the Department of Surgical Sciences. Surgical Sciences is a common name for medical fields that can diagnose if surgery necessary and can carry out operation when a surgery is needed for the patient receive their health back.

Within first two years, students acquire skills that they learn on models and simulated patients in an examination environment and then, main contribution of departments of the Surgical Sciences begins when students start to improve their skills in real examination environment with patients.

Departments within the Department of Surgical Sciences are as follows:

  1. Department of Anesthesiology and Reanimation
  2. Department of Cardiovascular Surgery
  3. Department of General Surgery
  4. Department of Medical Pathology
  5. Department of Neurosurgery
  6. Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  7. Department of Ophthalmology
  8. Department of Orthopedics and Traumatology
  9. Department of Otorhinolaryngology
  10. Department of Pediatric Surgery
  11. Department of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery
  12. Department of Thoracic Surgery
  13. Department of Urology

With contribution of these departments, it is expected that students will learn procedures such as learning medical history of a patient, diagnosis and treatment   and also will acquire skills relating medical procedures such as preparation of a patient for a surgery, operating a surgery and post operational wound and patient care in the core education curriculum. Moreover, students are provided with information regarding technologies and devices, medication and support equipment used in the surgical services and they learn how to use them. In this period, it is also important that students must learn what not to do as much as how to do.

WHATEVER’S ON YOUR MIND about our University, ask us!